Use a 2D plan of the house in design workshop

Discuss DesignWorkshop design-oriented 3D CAD and associated CAD and architectural rendering and design media topics. Moderated by the Artifice support team.

Use a 2D plan of the house in design workshop

Postby Deepa7476 » Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:47 am

Hi
I am new to 3 D modelling
Started as a hobby after brainstorming by our family towards our new home
I am still trying to get the grip of basics by reading both offline and online tutorials

I have 2D paln of our new home
can any one tell me how to use that as a base to develp a 3D structure
or
should i start the 3D drawing itself..with the 2d plan (printi out) as my reference

if so..i would like some step-by-step instruction specifying..plot size..add rooms..etc etc.

Thank You

DEAR MODERATORS:If you feel this post is inappropriate for gropu pls feel free to move this post and intimate me on the same
Deepa7476

Postby Deepa7476 » Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:13 am

Hi
Freinds...I see that 43 members have already viewed this topic
and not one to pass on a message to me
Please ..
if you have any information rearding how i may solve my problem please do reply to this post

If you feel any other software can be of more hlep donot hesitate to mentaion that link in your post

Thank you
Deepa7476

2D plan into 3D design

Postby Steel Shade » Mon Oct 03, 2005 2:48 pm

What you describe is actually quite simple to do in DesignWorkshop:

First you need a digital version of your floor plan, perhaps by using a scanner. It is best to scale your plan in your Imaging software (PhotoShop, etc.), but I will describe a way around that if that is not an option for you (If you can scale it in your imaging software, just ignore anything about scaling). Then open a new file in DesignWorkshop and go to View/Plan. Then go to File/Background/Open and select the scanned image of your floor plan. you should see your floor plan in plan view, ready to draw on!