Suggestions on Software Please

Discuss DesignWorkshop design-oriented 3D CAD and associated CAD and architectural rendering and design media topics. Moderated by the Artifice support team.

Suggestions on Software Please

Postby tilegirl » Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:06 am

Hello.
I am getting ready to do some design work with a Historic Preservationist for both residential and commercial. This will probably incorporate new construction projects as well. My background is in historic preservation, hard surfaces design, interiors, and kitchen and bath design. I have used 20/20, which is basically for cabinet design. I have not much experience in general design software, and was wondering if someone could tell me what they would recommend? I would like to find something that I could scan pictures into. I would also like something that had access to historic architectural design elements such as items with a radius like arches over windows and brackets,etc. It needs to present to the client a visualization of the drawing in something like a 3-D format. It will probably be used in some cases as a working drawing as well by the builder or GC. These are probably basic questions, I know. I am just not sure where to start.
Any suggestions or comments?
Thanks,
Renae
tilegirl

Postby Antisthenes » Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:34 pm

Rhino , always
Antisthenes

Postby F700ES » Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:04 pm

SketchUp Pro for your 3D work and maybe AutoCAD LT if you need to produce nice clean 2D plans and elevations. Both work well together.
F700ES

Postby Antisthenes » Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:28 pm

progecad smart is free. and 100% autocad compatible

http://www.download.com/progeCAD-2008-S ... 77485.html
Antisthenes

Postby F700ES » Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:30 pm

Antisthenes wrote:progecad smart is free. and 100% autocad compatible

http://www.download.com/progeCAD-2008-S ... 77485.html

But not for commercial use, I thought we had went over this before? Pretty sure they said commercial work in the 1st post.