Newbie needs help pls

Discuss DesignWorkshop design-oriented 3D CAD and associated CAD and architectural rendering and design media topics. Moderated by the Artifice support team.

Newbie needs help pls

Postby bluedog » Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:03 pm

Hi, I am an absolute beginner trying to teach myself DesignWorkshop. I downloaded the free trial, and did the tutorial etc.

My purpose is to play with renovation ideas for my own home, and as a starting point I am using the surveyors report,(.dwg file) for the existing building and site footprint. (It also has easements and levels data etc)

I managed to import it into program ok on the free software and played around with building up the walls etc. However I could not save as the number of objects exceeds 100. I was very keen to use it, so i went and bought the Classic software and downloaded it.

Two things, I couldn't then use the same import function to open the attached .dwg (as I could with the free software) but then even when I got around that, I STILL can't save even the basic surveyors report as apparently it has more than the 1000 objects limit?!

I am an absolute novice, but I figure there must be a simple way around this. I have tried some of the help topics without success.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Cheers
Jono
bluedog

Postby GaryV » Tue Feb 20, 2007 2:38 am

Welcome Jono,

What I would suggest is to use the survey as a template to draw/create over the top of (on another layer) and then delete it. Draw over the property lines and also create the structure over their objects in DW. Then once you have what you need, delete the survey. Depending on how it was drawn there may be many thousand small objects comprising arcs and lines which you flat out do not need. I know there is an object limit on the lite version but not sure on Classic.

Not sure if this is the issue or not but you might try this as an option.

-Gary
GaryV

Postby bluedog » Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:11 pm