Sierra

Discuss PowerCADD and WildTools in particular,
and related architectural drawing and drafting topics in general. Moderated by Artifice in cooperation with Engineered Software.

Sierra

Postby poolvibe » Mon Sep 05, 2016 12:34 am

Anyone running the Sierra Beta yet?
User avatar
poolvibe
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:19 pm

Re: Sierra

Postby Don MacNair » Mon Sep 05, 2016 11:12 am

Not yet, I am usually an early adopter but I am a bit nervous this time around. I have been dealing with significant dwg issues since 9.1.4 with no resolution from ES. It would appear as AutoCadd and Revit evolve the translation process degrades. Not to mention the minor on-going issues with latest PoweCadd.
Don MacNair
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Kenwood, CA

Re: Sierra

Postby poolvibe » Tue Sep 06, 2016 12:48 am

It has been really quiet.... Makes me nervous..... Wondering if Todd is still working on things?
User avatar
poolvibe
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:19 pm

Re: Sierra

Postby Alfred Scott » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:19 am

We don't know of any problems yet with Sierra, but our experience has been that problems tend to show up in the field well after the official release of a new OS version. I also don't know of a single reason to be an early adopter so do yourself a favor and stick with El Capitan. If you're on an earlier version, then please move to El Capitan so we can all be on the same page.

Things have been quiet, but that period is now over, and we'll be very active over the next few months. The DWG translator is a top priority, and I've got something transformational going with dynamic vector tool icons that will completely change your feeling for the program.

We will be working on this today, with the goal of having high resolution icons on retina machines and eventually variable-size tool icons and not just small and large.

Alfred
User avatar
Alfred Scott
millennium club
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Sierra

Postby patrickm » Tue Sep 06, 2016 10:03 am

Thanks, Alfred!
User avatar
patrickm
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: santa barbara, ca

Re: Sierra

Postby Don MacNair » Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:45 pm

Thank you Alfred! You're the man! As an early adopter, I thought I was one of the crazy, wild ones. I suppose it's true, with a bit of recklessness. Can't wait to see what you've got up your sleeve. I am happy to hear the dwg issue is now a focus, it is really a bit buggy at the moment.

Thank you again.
Don MacNair
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Kenwood, CA

Re: Sierra

Postby poolvibe » Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:52 pm

The idea of variable size tool palettes is a dream come true. Will this include all of the attribute palettes etc? Symbol libraries? Just wondering...
User avatar
poolvibe
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:19 pm

Re: Sierra

Postby Alfred Scott » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:01 pm

On your iPad or computer, Go to

http://www.seqair.com/WildTools/Documentation/Docs.html

Download the documentation at the top of the list. This is recently updated and you can see the icons and tool palettes there.

Alfred
User avatar
Alfred Scott
millennium club
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Sierra

Postby Alfred Scott » Thu Sep 08, 2016 5:49 pm

There was a mixup on the copy of the documentation uploaded. It's now corrected, so please check back in and download a current copy. There you can see what the dynamic vector icons look like and how they update as you make changes.

I watched the Apple Keynote last night, including the gaming on the iPhone, which is not my thing, but the "music" at the end! The world has passed me by if this stuff is what is called music. I thought political campaign stuff was bad enough, but this! Sheesh!

Alfred
User avatar
Alfred Scott
millennium club
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Sierra

Postby patrickm » Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:48 am

FYI --
Normally, before upgrading my OS, I make sure that two pieces of vital software work: PowerCADD and Quicken. I have been using Quicken 2007 and was concerned about its compatibility with Sierra. I had heard bad things about subsequent versions of Quicken, so I had stuck to Quicken 2007. Last week, Quicken 2017 was released. I read some reviews and people seemed to like it, soI upgraded. It imported all my old data without a glitch. The new format is different and might take a little while to get used to, but it seems as robust as Quicken 2007.

Once the PowerCADD coast is clear,I'll upgrade to Sierra.
User avatar
patrickm
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: santa barbara, ca

Re: Sierra

Postby strother » Mon Aug 28, 2017 5:59 pm

PatrickM - I have a PC with Windows for the sole purpose of using Quicken - which has my entire financial life history. I saw not long ago they now have a Mac version. Is that what you now use and like?

I upgraded my PowerCadd today to 9.1.5 in anticipation of upgrading to Sierra on Thursday. Alfred says it will work fine, as long as you upgrade PC first.
strother
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 6:11 pm
Location: Maidens, Va

Re: Sierra

Postby patrickm » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:20 am

strother wrote:PatrickM - I have a PC with Windows for the sole purpose of using Quicken - which has my entire financial life history. I saw not long ago they now have a Mac version. Is that what you now use and like?

I upgraded my PowerCadd today to 9.1.5 in anticipation of upgrading to Sierra on Thursday. Alfred says it will work fine, as long as you upgrade PC first.


Yes, be been using Quicken 2017 for 10 months and it seems more or less fine. It doesn't figure out loan amortizations and the way investment reports are lacking, but the rest works well. Also, the new owners seem committed to their product, and have added features since I bought it. I assume they will continue to improve it and add the missing loan/investment features at some point.
User avatar
patrickm
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: santa barbara, ca

Re: Sierra

Postby patrickm » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:23 am

I just looked at Quicken's website, and they may have already added these features (but I've been too busy working to notice).
User avatar
patrickm
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: santa barbara, ca

Re: Sierra

Postby phansford » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:59 am

PatrickM - are you using Quicken or Quick Books Pro? I need to upgrade from Quick Books Pro (2006?).... Does Quicken 2017 do the same as Quick Books Pro. I just need something to do simple accounting.... and print out Tax Schedule C and 1099 at the end of the year.

I've been keep an old powerbook alive just for that program and to convert old Appleworks files.

Thanks in advance for your reply.
phansford
millennium club
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 1:47 pm
Location: SW Ohio

Re: Sierra

Postby patrickm » Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:01 am

I use Quicken, not Quickbooks. I know nothing about Quickbooks.
User avatar
patrickm
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: santa barbara, ca

Next

Return to PowerCADD Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron

User Control Panel

Login

Who is online

In this forum zone there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 508 on Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:21 am

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests
DesignCommunity   ·   ArchitectureWeek   ·   Great Buildings   ·   Archiplanet   ·   Books   ·   Blogs   ·   Search
Special thanks to our sustaining subscribers Building Design UK, Building Design News UK, and Building Design Tenders UK.