Transforming Architecture

Discussion among students of architecture, planning, interiors, landscape, and environmental design. Occasional contributions by lurking design professionals.

Transforming Architecture

Postby kurtzikler03 » Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:52 pm

now i'm doing my thesis about transforming architecture....not many reference i can get..

transforming is like Mitos, for this moment, building can't transform to another form with different function.....but it already hv done in the film n in science fiction..what we think if building can transform like Transformers??? :o ..and it maybe could happen in 20 or 40 years coming.......it's actually about the reality and illusion of time...(base on theory of time)

back to my thesis, i hv already done research on transforming, in terms of nature, science fiction, history, typology n technology.......and the results is...transforming is happen with the aspect of kinetics and movement.....

my 1st issue is about the need of space in urban area...it is about, we don't hv enough space if we want to construct single building with single function....

2nd issue is about the waste of space in our building, especially in office building...this what had happen in urban development now....so much building but not many office space is use...

from my researh, i try to scope down my study about the technology, it's about the combination of hydraulic, kinetic, magnetic and sensor system to make my thesis can be truly success...."TRANSFORMING".....and i relate it to my issue that i say above.....

for this time moment, the building that use the kinetic, sensor or magnetic system, just their component can moving or can do the rotation...and it's not truly change the form n function....

it's so hard to translate from imagination to realistic thing....

i need some help, opinion or suggestion from u alll???? i'm very appreciate it...
kurtzikler03

Hope to hear from you, associate!!!

Postby gosha » Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:19 pm