Hey to all!

Discussion among students of architecture, planning, interiors, landscape, and environmental design. Occasional contributions by lurking design professionals.

Hey to all!

Postby Vikita » Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:20 am

Hello to all the members of the architectural community.

I've only just joined this website and am thrilled to be a part of this community. Hopefully I'll have a great stay here and meet a lot of like minded people (and I don't only mean having architecture as our common interest).

So, I'm an architectural student studying in my first year. I'm halfway thru my 'fundamentals of design' course and am drowing trying to understand how to construct, perspectives, isometric, plan obliques...etc... My text book 'Architectural Graphics' by Francis Ching, doesn't teach us how to make these constructions the way my prof. does. All our design assignments have started getting so complicated that I've decided to start from scratch. Any help any of you can give me?

Look forward to hearing from you all....Vikita
Vikita

Postby starkca3 » Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:54 am

nice! what school are you at? are you freehand right now or starting right in with drafting? I'm second year at the moment. :D
starkca3

Postby Vikita » Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:10 am

I study at the Canadian university of Dubai. Doing a mix of freehand and drafting. Think you can help me out with constructing staircases (Plan Oblique style?)
Vikita

Postby starkca3 » Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:09 pm

mm so you just draw out the plan of the stairs first, the bring your first landing to the correct height. Then you construct your bottom stair with the correct rise and run. Then construct a plane from the nose of the stair to the nose of the first landing. This is the plane where all the noses of your steps should touch, and just go from there.
starkca3

Postby nanrehvasconez » Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:54 pm

Carpentry Technique:
Designing Stairs and
Laying Out Stair Stringers

In This Article:
Lots of diagrams.